For Immediate Release
Literary Classics

Rapid City, South Dakota
Tradition continues with the arrival of one of the most anticipated moments in the world of children’s and young adult literature. The 2019 Literary Classics Book Award Finalists and Top Honors Book Awards Finalists have been announced. Selected from submissions by entrants around the globe, these distinguished honorees are recognized for their contributions to the craft of writing, illustrating, and publishing exceptional literature for a youth audience. In this highly competitive industry these books represent the foremost in literature in their respective categories.

The competition this year was quite impressive, and we congratulate all the finalists for their outstanding and inspiring work. Final awards, categories and levels will be announced on November 15, 2019. 

The Literary Classics selection committee is proud to recognize this year’s titles in literature which exemplify the criteria set forth by the Literary Classics award selection committee. 

Lester Aradi, Tricycle and Friends, Post Hill Press 

Bon Blossman, Behind the Mirror, My Mystery Party

Annie Boochever, Fighter in Velvet Gloves, University of Alaska Press

Laura Bullock, The Traveling Javelinas, Create Space Independent Publishing

Lisa Calhoun-Owen, The Moonlight Dancer, Warren Publishing

Geanna Culbertson, Crisanta Knight: Inherent Fate, BQB Publishing

Tracy Detz, No Fish for Charles, Warren Publishing

John Egenes, Man & Horse: The Long Ride Across America, Delta Vee

M.J. Evans, PERCY - The Racehorse Who Didn’t Like to Run, Dancing Horse Press

Patrick Finegan, Cooperative Lives, Two Skates Publishing LLC

Diana Forbes, Mistress Suffragette, Penmore Press LLC

Barbara Freeman, Mirror Mirror, Laredo Publishing Company

J.W. Garrett, Remeon’s Destiny, BHC Press

Patrick Garry, In the Shadow of War, Kenric Books

V. A. Givens, Sealed with a Twist, Eclectic Quill Publishing

Lori Harrison, Why Water’s Worth It, Water Environment Federation

Ndaa Hassan, Ramadan Around the World, Self-Published

Melanie Hooyenga, The Edge Rules, Left-Handed Mitten Publications

Connie Huddleston, Greg’s Fourth Adventure in Time, ITP Press

Mutch Katsonga, The Melancholy History of Mayfly, Self-Published

Courtney Leigh Pahlke, Life Force Preserve, EBooks2Go

Wendy Leighton-Porter, The Shadow of Camelot, Silver Quill Publishing

Gloria Lintermans, SAM: The Cat Without a Tail, Blooming Twig Books

Suzanne Jacobs Lipshaw, I Campaigned for Ice Cream, Warren Publishing

Alison McBain, The Rose Queen, Fairfield Scribes

Jackie Minniti, One Small Spark, Anaiah Press

Susan Morrison, Home Front Girl, Chicago Review Press

Edy Nathan, It’s Grief: The Dance of Self Discovery, As I Am Press

Daniela I Norris, Premonitions, Roundfire Books

Christina M Pages, The Woodland Adventures of Lucy and Will, Waldorf Publishing

Jeannie Panchal, Oregon Trail Activity Guide, Self-Published

Jessica Reed, Running with the Wolves, BHC Press

Jessica Renwick, The Book of Chaos, Starfell Press

A. M. Robin, Hidden Scales, A.M. Robin

Joseph Ruder, Daydreaming Danny and the Pirate Treasure, CreateSpace Independent Publishing

Sylvia Sanchez Garza, Cascarones, Floricanto Press

Navya Sarikonda, The Enchanters’ Child, Ingramspark

Chad-Michael Simon, Yellowstone: The Bears of Caldera, Hyphenated Press

Sonya Song, Pirate Bear, Chinchilla Books

Sonya Song, City of More, Chinchilla Books

Kena Sosa, The Unhuggables, River Road Press

C.R. Stewart, Britfield and the Lost Crown, Devonfield Publishing

Astrid V.J., Aspiring, Part 1 of the Siblings’ Tale, New Wings Press

Final award levels & categories will be announced November 15, 2019

Literary Classics, an organization dedicated to furthering excellence in literature, takes great pride in its role to help promote classic literature which appeals to youth, while encouraging positive values in the impressionable minds of future generations.